A whole-hearted love

p1080855teatime2-large

Some things aren’t easy.  This was.  As a matter-of-fact, it was so easy, it almost scared me.

I’ve found myself working magic in the kitchen for a few years now.  This past summer was the time affectionately referred to as, All Things Grilled.   This week it is quickly becoming known as, Toaster Baked Trials.  An old oven can be patched-up and band-aided for just so long before it stands up and shouts, “I’M OUT OF HERE!”  And so it is, or will be, as soon as the new one arrives via the big box store.  Until then, let us fast forward to this afternoon, or should I say, rewind?  Yes.  Rewind. 

I’m in the kitchen playing mom to Hannah, my prized, less than papers-perfect Lab.  She’s my inspiration for the day, but then what day is she NOT my inspiration?  She is my world, and today, I am hers.

Cookies for Hannah  (original, don’t you think?…actually, they are :) )

Stir the following in a small bowl and set aside:

  • 1 pkg. instant yeast
  • 1/4 cup lukewarm water
  • 1 Tablespoon molasses (unsulphured)

……….

Sift these together and set aside:

  • 1/2 cup barley flour
  • 1/2 rye flour
  • 1/2 cup rice flour
  • 1 cup bread flour
  • 1 cup oat bran
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

……….

In a small bowl, mix together and set aside:

  • 1/4 cup parsley flakes
  • 1/4 cup dry milk powder
  • 1 Tablespoon flax seed

……….

Whip together:

  • 1 egg (room temp)
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 cup chicken broth (low-sodium….if not available, just omit the salt)

……….

Using a stand mixer (if you have one and if you don’t…wing it!  I have faith in you,  remember who you’re talking to, Broken Oven Lady), combine all ingredients and mix for one full minute at low speed.

MOVE AWAY from the mixer and remember to return in FIVE MINUTES.   This dough needs a break!

Are you back yet?  Good!  Now turn the mixer to its medium setting and continue working the dough, this time for five minutes.

Turn the mixer off and grab a glass of cold water.  Drink it!  It is good to be hydrated when you are under stress.  Oh, and let the dough rest for another five minutes.

…….

Preheat oven to 350 degrees (if baking in a small toaster oven, preheat to 325 degrees).

…..

Lightly dust counter top with flour and remove dough from mixer to this work area.   Hand knead for one minute.  Divide dough into two balls and refrigerate one (or freeze), while you work the other.

To work the dough,  roll each ball into a 1/4 inch thickness, cut into desired shapes with cookie, biscuits cutters or the rim of a small drinking glass.  Place each cut cookie onto a parchment lined or lightly greased baking sheet and cover with a piece of plastic wrap that has been lightly misted with oil.  Allow these to gently rise for 15 minutes.  Bake for 10 minutes, flip each and continue baking for an additional 10 minutes.  Move to wire rack and allow to cool as you bake additional batches.   Once all cookies have been baked and cooled, RETURN them to the cooled oven, placed upon cookie sheets, stacked if necessary, but with room between for air-circulation, and allow them to sit, undisturbed for 12 to 24 hours.  This ‘dry-time’ will allow them to become crisp, cracker-like. 

(Store  cookies within an airtight container.)

**Cookies can be egg-white washed before baking, and seeded.   I used natural sesame seeds for part of this batch.

…..

Hello!  My name is Hannah.

p1020191-medium

~ by coffeegrounded on January 22, 2009.

4 Responses to “A whole-hearted love”

  1. hi hannah!!! that is a very interesting blend of ingredients. would love to try it. enjoy your new oven. and thanks for dropping by.

  2. Thanks for visiting our blog. Our new oven is scheduled to arrive in one to two weeks. In the meantime, we’re having fun baking in tha little toaster oven. It’s fun to see how creative we can get….I did pizza last night and a stromboli the evening prior.

    By the way…I absolutely LOVE your blog and hope to one day enter a photo entry and a recipe. Got to get that new oven first, and second, I’ve got to learn to trick my camera into liking me. lol.

  3. Nice to meet you lovely Hannah :) I know, I am in the past now, but your owner has an amazing blog, I try to visit all these pages :) like a book, like a huge book :) Thank you, love, nia

    • Oh, Nia, thank-you for visiting my page. My mom and I are inseparable. I’m now 9 and a half in dog years. My mom is 63, but we act like children. Life is pure joy when you view it thru the eyes of a young one!

      I hope you have a lovely day, evening, and week.

      Puppy dog kisses to you,

      Love,
      Hannah

Leave a Reply

 
