Sweet success

p1080932resized

I am smitten by this lovely item. No fancy-schmancy name, just pure and simple:  Fruit and nut bars. These are set to become a member of my handwritten recipe file.  They are simply that decadent. Their most unassuming manner and hypnotic charm snared me; from the very first bite I knew I was on to something known as, a keeper.

I do a lot of perusing recipe and food sites.  When I say a lot, well, it’s evident by the sheer volume of bookmarked recipes I have to tread my way through at weeks end.  I’m not necessarily organized when it comes to my Favorites Box; I try to be, but somehow it becomes burdened and bulging and I find myself culling though it and filing only those items that really send me.  This is one beauty that finally found its way off of the computer page, into the kitchen, and onto my plate.  This lovely was discovered in the archives of that dear, sweet  and charming, David Lebovitz.   I find a lot of wonderful treats that have danced through his kitchen, or rather, kitchens.  The man has his own set of charms. I openly admit that I am cast under his spell.   This is my rendition to his:  Friendship Bar:  Dried Fruit Bar Recipe.

Feel free to shake it up a bit.  Use what you WANT, or better yet, what you HAVE on hand.  That’s the sheer genius of it!  I found myself working magic yesterday with my excesses.  Be prepared:  these are easy, decadent and healthy, or is that healthful?   Oh drads, you get the picture; now go to the kitchen and whip up your own concoction:

Fruited Nut Bars

3 Tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/8 teaspoon kosher salt

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon baking power

1 1/2 cups toasted almonds (unsalted and chopped)

1/2 cup roasted pumpkin seeds (unsalted)

1 cup  dried figs (diced)

1/2 cup dates (diced)

1/4 cup currants

1/4 cup candied orange slices (chopped)

1 Tablespoon crushed anise seeds

1 large egg (room temp)

3 Tablespoons brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract (the REAL stuff)

…..

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Line a small casserole dish (or regular sized loaf pan), with parchment paper for baking.

…..

Place:  flour, salt, crushed anise seed, baking powder and baking soda in a large bowl.   Stir with your fingertips until blended fully.   Add  fruit and nuts, working the flour evenly to coat.  In a mixer:  whip egg, sugar and vanilla on medium speed for three minutes.   Turn mixer to low setting and add the dry mixture to the wet.  Combine only until fruit and nuts are fully coated.   Place dough in lined baking pan and bake at 325 degrees for 28 to 30 minutes.  Move pan to cooling rack and allow bars to cool for one hour before slicing.

~ by coffeegrounded on January 28, 2009.

2 Responses to “Sweet success”

  1. That’s really a gorgeous photo! Can’t go wrong with a David L. recipe.
    Thanks for the comment on my tuiles. Are you going to join Daring Bakers?

    • Hi Susan,

      Thanks for your compliment. Yes. I am going to join…or have joined.

      Thank you so much for following my blog. I’m still learning, but taking my time; there’s no rush. My main goal is to bake, bake and then bake some more! I’m anxiously awaiting my new oven. This little Cuisinart toaster is getting a real work out. Poor fella will probably be the next thing to konk out on me. lol.

      Have yourself a wonderful day. I’ll be checking the round-up and enjoying the good vibes, too. Again, I thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
