I heart you, too!

p1090093pickit

I have a thing for Valentine’s Day.  Some of my fondest memories harken back to my elementary school days.  What is there not to love about this day? 

Cut-out sugar cookies, decorated and inviting in all their glory.  Chocolate hearts and those gosh-darned conversation candies.  Remember when they came in two sizes?  (Maybe they still do and I’m just not shopping in the right store.)  And then there were those precious hand crafted boxes we created to hold our coveted Valentine’s. 

I love this day!   Sincerely.   Fully, and dearly.  And sometimes I wonder: 

What if I sat down with a shoe box, some construction paper, safety scissors and a bit of paste?  Would it all be the same?  Could I recreate the magic?

Probably not.  Seriously, where would I be when I opened my beauty on this beloved day only to find that she was empty?  Oh, how that would tear at my heart, for what is Valentine’s Day if it can’t be shared? 

Exactly.

Here, have a heart.  Heck, have two or three.  No need to thank me.  The crumbs will say it all.

I hope your day is beautiful.  Mine will be.  I’m lucky enough to share it with you.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

…..

I promised I’d come back and post the recipe for both the cookie and the icing.  Generally I follow true to a recipe from a 1970’s edition of, Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook, an item made with shortening, but this has been my year for all things butter (unsalted). 

The following was discovered while perusing the website, RecipeZaar.com,  and a submission by Kittencal.  My tweaks came about by the reduction of the amount of almond extract and an extra bit of real vanilla in the cookie batter.  Icing tweaks came when I once again reduced the amount of the almond extract and increased the vanilla.  (My tweaks are * and appear in bold and italics.)

 

COOKIES

1 cup butter, softened (no substitutes)      *unsalted butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs    *room temp

1/2 teaspoon vanilla    *1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon almond extract      *1/4 teaspoon almond extract

3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

FROSTING

2 cups sifted confectioners sugar (the sugar must be sifted)

1 tablespoon milk (adding in more if needed for proper spreading consistency)      *2 – 3 Tablespoons

1 tablespoon light corn syrup

1/4 teaspoon almond extract (can use 1/2 tsp. vanilla in place of the almond)      *1/8 teaspoon almond

food coloring (use your choice of colours)

For cookies; in a large bowl combine butter with sugar, eggs, vanilla and almond extract; beat using an electric mixer on high speed until light and fluffy.

In another bowl combine the flour with baking powder, baking soda and salt; gradually stir into the butter mixture until well blended.

Cover bowl with plastic wrap and chill for 2 hours.

Set oven to 400°F.      *I baked my cookies at 350 degrees for 8 minutes.

Line cookie sheets with parchment paper (do not grease cookie sheets use parchment paper only).

On a very lightly floured surface roll out the dough into about 1/4-inch thickness.

Cut into desired shapes using cookie cutters.

Place cookies 2-inches apart on cookie sheet.

Bake 4-6 minutes.     *Mine were baked for 8 minutes at 350 degrees.

Remove cookies to wire racks to cool completely before icing.

For the frosting; in a small bowl mix the confectioners sugar with milk (start with 1-2 tablespoons, you will likely need more milk for the perfect spreading consistency).

Beat in corn syrup and almond extract until the icing is smooth and glossy (if the icing is too thick add in a small amount more of corn syrup).

Divide into as many separate bowls as you wish for different colours.

Add in food colouring until desired intensity is achieved.

Paint the icing over the cookies using a brush, or dip edges of cookies into icing.

Allow to set on waxed paper.

*I baked my cookies earlier in the day and allowed them to cool (and rest), at room temp before decorating them.  Once decorated, I set them in my cooled oven and allowed them to dry overnight. 

~ by coffeegrounded on February 14, 2009.

2 Responses to “I heart you, too!”

  1. Did you make those cookies? They are so pretty :)

    • Yes, I did. They are a new recipe; frosting too. I’ll post it later today. I’m glad you like them. I wanted to send you some, but I knew they wouldn’t arrive in time for Valentine’s Day. Hannah and I sat in the kitchen until late in the day, Thursday, decorating to our hearts content. :)

Leave a Reply

 
