Frosted in the afternoon

not by snow, but ice cream. 

I spent the morning transplanting my new little veggies into their garden beds and the afternoon dancing with Mr. Chill, the Cuisinart ice cream machine in the corner of the kitchen. 

Things went well. 

I have errands to run, but I can’t be bothered.  I’m on a sugar-high, caffeine rush and a chocolate overload all rolled into one!   But whose complaining?  Those items will just have to wait until I re-coup, or I hire a maid.  Or better yet, until I forget about them and they absorb into the stratosphere.  Until then, dip your spoon into this and lets talk dirt.  Garden dirt.  I shoveled and scooped, dug and planted until I was in need of a heavy-duty carb load. 

p1090415

Perhaps I’ve mislead you.  That’s NOT dirt in the ice cream.  It’s chunks of chocolate, espresso powder and hazelnuts.    Mr. Chop-Em, or as I like to refer to him, ‘Lil Bits’, the KitchenAid mini processor also had his way with me.  Do I have your attention now? 

p1090421

Ice cream is about the easiest item in the arsenal of all things, satisfying, but that could be because I now waltz with a machine.  Actually, way back in time, like about 32 years ago to be exact, I thought I could make ice cream a la sans, machine.  Well, the mere fact that I can remember the date is enough to tell us the real tale.  I did not have success.  I did have one rather large and brimming Tupperware carrier filled with ice milk that resembled the country of Iceland.  I beat on that thing for days trying to pry some sort of something free just to get a taste.  Eventually I threw it into a  Coleman ice chest along with a case of  soda-pop and headed off to the lake to bass fish.

And then I discovered David Lebovitz.   Sheer genius, and just as sweet.  He’s got a plan to save us the headache of floating Iceland in our coolers.  Visit his website (davidlebovitz.com), for the real scoop.  Seriously.  He’ll guide you on how to make ice cream IN THE FREEZER.  Creamy.  Magnificent.   Until you have the opportunity to twist and shout with David L., come and try a version of something I’m naming:

Espresso Chocolate & Hazelnut Ice Cream

1 1/2 cups whole milk

3/4 cup granulated sugar

dash of salt (Kosher)

2 egg yolks (fresh from the fridge)

3 cups heavy cream, very cold!!!

2 teaspoons vanilla (the real deal, okie-doke?)

1/4 teaspoon Boyajian Pure Orange Oil

4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, melted.  Callebaut

1 Tablespoon King Arthur Espresso Powder

1/4 cup chopped hazelnuts*

1/3 cup chopped semi-sweet chocolate chips, Callebaut*

…..

Pulse hazelnuts until finely chopped.  Empty into a small bowl.   Pulse chocolate chips until chopped to your liking.  Combine nuts and chocolate in bowl and set aside.*

Melt bittersweet chocolate using a double-boiler method.  Set aside.

Place two egg yolks in a small-sized bowl and whip until fully combined.  Set aside.

Place milk in a small pan and heat over low heat, stirring constantly until bubbles begin to form at the edge of the pan.  Beat in your sugar and salt along with espresso powder, dissolve fully.  Continue beating milk at low temp. 

Remove from heat and add one to two tablespoons of hot milk to egg yolks, stirring egg mix constantly.  Add more milk to egg and bring back to the stove-top, this time adding all of the egg mixture into the warmed milk.   Continue cooking until the thermometer reaches 160 degrees (about 10 minutes). 

Remove the pan from stovetop and immediately add the melted chocolate, orange oil and vanilla.    Beat until fully combined.  Place pan into an ice water bath and continue to reduce temperature.   Once the custard is lukewarm, add heavy cream and stir until fully combined.   Pour contents into a covered container and place into the refrigerator for at least one to two hours before freezing in ice cream machine. 

***Add the chopped hazelnuts and chocolate chip pieces during the final five minutes of freeze time in your ice cream machine.

~ by coffeegrounded on March 9, 2009.

2 Responses to “Frosted in the afternoon”

  1. Yummy to my tummy!!! Oh, jake is yelling “i want cookies” right now. He says your chocolate chip cookies are his favorite dessert (but don’t tell his mommy).

    • M., you should try this! I re-worked the recipe from the ice cream we ate when you were home. I think this is a keeper. ;)

      Tell Jacob I’ll ship him some cookies soon. Give him these for me in the meantime:

      XOXOXOXOXO

      These are for you:

      XOXOXOXOXO

Leave a Reply

 
