The answer

p1090498

comes in the form of a cookie, always, and today was no exception.  But I had a problem as I headed into slumber last night.  Before those sheep could be counted I had some mental gymnastics to get out of my way.  I needed shipping and storage containers.

Thank goodness the sheep herders had left that gate open once again, I think I lost count at about #5,041 baby ewes.

I awoke to a refreshed sense of urgency.  Well, if urgency can be used loosely. I think it was more acutely a realization that all I had at hand was that old Christmas photo box, dusty and nesting atop a shelf in the laundry room, a shoe box perfumed by all things fake or leather, and maybe a shipping box received from someone, someplace, sometime….ago.   Nothing could be considered worthy, so perhaps I wasn’t as ‘fresh’ as I’d hope for and the search continued, only this time it required a bit of foot traffic. 

I rummaged through the hall closet, into the bedrooms, took a peek at that dusty photo box, and then the doorbell rang.  Oops….the one in my head, not the front door.  (Sorry, I don’t have photo’s of my peeps, just my boxes and the cookies.) 

p1090482

 Thank goodness for the compost bucket box.   Who would have ever thought it a cookie shipping box?  lol.  ;) 

p1090483

 A beautiful tin that contained an equally beautiful cookie.

p1090493

Here’s a little story from our life, a window into our world, and something to explain why this is:

The answer

I remember when he first arrived on the doorstep.  Five years ago, about this time of year.  If he was nervous he didn’t show it, if he was scared he didn’t exude it, but I rather doubt I would have been able to discern it.   I was too busy trying to be all those things a mom wants to be when they are expected to be on their best behavior.  I’m sure I combed my hair and dug around for something like a pair of tennis shoes, a t-shirt and some jeans.  Surely I wasn’t wearing a cocktail dress.  I would have remembered purchasing it.

I’m pretty sure that M1 told him we were harmless, and as important, mindless.  You know how children are, especially when they’ve been away at school.  They possess a maturity that we haven’t truly granted them yet, but they announce it with each opportunity (reminds me of a call earlier this evening from M2, spring break around the corner, “I’m going camping with my friends.”…………………….”Oh yeah?”…… Later on that one.  Maybe MUCH later…as in, “FORGET IT!”) and with great fanfare.

Was I ready to meet this young man?  Ummm, I don’t really know how to answer that.  Are moms and dads ever ready to meet their offspring’s suitor?

As he came through the doorway, I caught that curly auburn hair and those green eyes; he had that look about him.  Not afraid to scale a mountain, forge the river, or build the dam, yeah, he was and is, the outdoors type.  He’s also adorably cute and sweet, but he will never know those last two items unless you mention them.  So don’t!  We have a man here.  They don’t tolerate being called cute and they sure as heck don’t want to be known as, sweet.

M1 liked him.  She really liked him.  A lot.   She held her silence and never really confided in me.  Some moms may find that a bit difficult, but with  M1 I knew it was a good sign.  She didn’t need me to confirm what she already knew.  Besides, I’m not supposed to weigh in on the qualities of her man.   I need to tend to my own business.

She may just know a thing or two. 

I might just learn something.

We might both find ourselves lucky.

These cookies are for J.  He gets them because he requested them.  I had begged him to allow me to treat him while he and M1 were in town for the marathon, but as usual, he simply said:

“Just bake me some cookies.”

p1090473

And so I did, but not before the scouring of the hallways, the closets, and the garage seeking something sturdy enough to head westward.  J. and M1 are green, won’t be offended by the discards of a Christmas cookie container, or the tin from a favored Italian cookie, nor the unseen Easter box.  They’ll know where my heart is, I centered it within each little baby chocolate chip cookie, secure in the knowledge that each morsel will be appreciated.

p1090468

Enjoy!

The following recipe is a re-do of the earlier Chocolate & Cinnamon Chip Cookie that I posted.

Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter Chip, Hazelnut and

Walnut Cookies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

4 cups AP flour

1 teaspoon espresso powder

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

Juice of one medium lemon (approximately 2 Tablespoons)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract 

2 cups brown sugar

1 cup granulated sugar

1 and 1/2 cups unsalted butter (room temperature) 

2 eggs (room temperature)

2 egg yolks (room temperature)

1 cups bittersweet chocolate chips

1 cup peanut butter chips

1 cup chopped walnuts

1 cup chopped hazelnuts

Assemble all ingredients prior to baking. 

Sift:  Flour, salt, baking soda and espresso powder; set aside.

Cream:  In a large mixing bowl, whip room temp butter until light and fluffy, add sugars and continue beating until a silky consistency is achieved.  Stir in vanilla and mix thoroughly.  Beat in the eggs next, adding one at a time until all are combined and creamed mixture is again, light and fluffy.  Add lemon juice and beat for another few seconds.  Now, combine the sifted dry ingredients gradually, about one cup at a time, being careful  not to overwork the  dough.    (All we want to do at this point is combine our wet and dry ingredients).  Once the flour is added, carefully fold in the chocolate and cinnamon chips. 

Using a small spoon (I opted for a small jam/jelly spoon), form cookie dough and place upon a parchment lined cookie sheet.  Bake for 8 to 9 minutes at 350 degrees (baking times will vary according to altitude and oven, types.  Cookies should be slightly browned around the edges and the centers set, not mushy!).  Move baked cookies  to a wired cooling rack and allow them to cool thoroughly before storing them in an airtight container.

~ by coffeegrounded on March 12, 2009.

6 Responses to “The answer”

  1. they look so yummy! I hope Jake arrives before they do!! Just kidding….I’m actually most excited about the yellow tin they’re coming in.

    • Hi M1, did you keep the last biscotti container, the gold/bronze from the year before? Those tins are so pretty. I think I would purchase the item just for the tin. They are works of art!

      I hope you enjoy these, but what am I saying? Off course you will; I made them! LOL! ;)

  2. Of course I still have it, it’s been on the kitchen counter since it arrived :)

  3. what an amazing assortment of flavours!!! i would love to try these.

    • Bee…I’m sorry, I placed the comment in the wrong place. I now see that you were commenting on the chocolate chip/peanut butter chip/hazelnut cookie. Yes…there is an assortment of flavors going on there, but they don’t play against each other, but add a depth that worked well together.

      …by the way, thanks for your visit. I LOVE your blog!!!!

      I have never used cacao nips before…OMGosh! I am smitten and will be using them FOREVER. I’d give you a cookie to snack on, but I’ve been entertaining college kids this week during their Spring break. Need I say more? lol…..

Leave a Reply

 
