The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, Anadama Bread

Peter Reinhart’s book, The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, caught my eye months ago as I perused the aisles of my favorite bookstore.  I remember grabbing it off of the shelf, flipping it’s pages and then returning it to the shelf. I would continue on in the browsing mode for a couple of hours, but I would return to this book twice again, before heading out the door, book in hand.

I knew I needed something to bide my time and my energies, yet little did I know that within this very week my need would become so urgent.   I was about to discover how important a foray into an all-consuming endeavor could prove beneficial for ones own mental health.

Yes.  This is serious stuff.  It contains my personal formula for survival.  It is my Alpha and my Omega.  My beginning to an end, and my return back from it.

P1100353

P1100376

In the preceding summer, June, to be exact,  our family would learn the news that our beloved kitty-cat, Whippie-Nippy, was suffering a horrible health crisis.  (This was also about the time that many others would learn of the pet food contamination’s.)  His vital organs were being battered by something unknown.   Tests were run, medications, both oral and intravenous were administered, but sadly, in the first week of October of 2007, we would need to let this little guy head Homeward, releasing him from here, and granting him:  rainbows, sunshine, and sweet breezes of his, Alpha and Omega.  

My bread dough was touched by an angel, and every time I make bread I remember just where the powers of alignment were, and are,  in my universe.  During the weeks of his passing I kneaded bread daily.  I threw myself with wild abandon into the pursuits of sourdough discoveries.  I did it with the aid of Peter Reinhart’s, The Bread Baker’s Apprentice

 

 My advice to anyone being challenged:

 

Find something to immerse yourself within, set a personal goal, fixed not upon someone else’s expectations, but your own.  This journey belongs to you.  Celebrate it!

  (I wish you the very best.)

*I’d like to give thanks to Nicole, www.PinchMySalt.com for setting forth this challenge.  At last read, she had over 200 folks accepting her request.   Each week we will be posting about our bakes.  I hope to keep up with the pack, but if I don’t, I’ll post my bake as quickly as I can.  I love the fact that this time I will not be crying my eyes out!  I’m in the midst of a wonderful network of challengers.   

 

Anadama Bread 

P1100380

~ by coffeegrounded on May 12, 2009.

18 Responses to “The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, Anadama Bread”

  1. Wow, Margie….. impressive bread! Just by the look of it, I already know the taste. Nice and appealing texture. Good work!

    Regards
    Kris

  2. I SO loved reading through your post. SORRY to hear about your kitty.
    I too have had more challenges then ever in my 53 years living in the last year with the death of my brother in law, mother in law, several uncles and intense changes in my sibling and marriage relationships.
    I loved what your wrote:
    “”””This journey belongs to you. Celebrate it!””””
    Your words will become my strength.
    Happy to be baking along with you.
    Susie

  3. Kris, thank you again, you are so encouraging…always! Yes, this is a tasty, yummy loaf. I found it a bit wet, but after kneading for several minutes I think I tamed, THE BEAST. lol.

  4. Susie, I am forever amazed at how life works. When I wrote this little item I did it as one more step to my renewal. Having you visit, comment and acknowledge your challenges, inspires me. Life doesn’t always hand us what we think is best, but in the end, we are better for what we have received. Enjoy your journey. I’ll be remembering your visit. Please come again.

  5. Margie,
    First a question before I forget. LOL! Are they special bowls of some sort that you use to bake your bread in?
    Thanks for your comment. I have been learning to go with the FLOW of what is happening instead of resisting. When you resist it persists and when you flow you grow. :)
    Life is so much more enjoyable with acceptance.
    The deaths I accepted fine. It is how my husband is doing with it all and the added “strain and difficulty’ (to say it mildly) with him trying to quit smoking after 40 years.
    Thanks again,
    Susie

  6. Susie, hang in there, kiddo!

    I used one bowl (green), a small Le Creuset casserole dish, and one Le Creuset ceramic bread pan. If you choose to use glass, oil the pans more than you would if you were baking in tin or metal. I had a Sumo wrestling match with one bake. I won! but the poor devil looked a bit haggard by the event. Also, I think I’d lower my temp to 325 degrees after the initial 20 minutes of bake time if using glass, ceramic, etc. (I did as instructed, opening my oven and turning my loaves at that point….it probably wasn’t necessary on this bake. The ceramics were excellent heat conductors. :)

  7. :) I’m hanging.
    Thanks for letting me know what you used and how you used them. They are beautiful dishes.
    Susie

  8. Wow! your bread turned out really good.

  9. Thanks for visiting, Sean. Your bread is beautiful, too!!! :)

  10. Looks great! I love this challenge…so lucky that we can all share in this together!

  11. I’m so sorry about your kitty. I have a cat approaching 14 years of age, with bad kidneys and a thyroid problem. I expect he won’t make it to the end of the year and I’ll be crying my eyes out. It’s nice that your bread baking helped you through this. Your anadama bread looks scrumptious. I look forward to seeing your artos.

  12. Pete, this is a wonderful event. We owe it all to two people, Peter Reinhart and Nicole. Kudo’s to those that lead us. :)

  13. Lovely looking bread Margie. And it’s nice to be baking along side another Margie (my real name)

    Also, having been through the death of a pet just a few years back, I want to give you a big hug. It’s tough, isn’t it.

    Keep up the good work!

  14. Your breads look beautiful. Sorry to hear about your kitty.

  15. gorgeous. i have been meaning to try this from “whole grain breads” by peter reinhart which uses whole wheat. i love cornmeal in breads.

  16. Bee, thanks for your compliment. I loved making this bread. I first tried my hand at it over a year ago, and I remember serving it with a whipped maple butter. The pantry was minus the maple so we are eating it, as is this go-round. I need to add to my collection and PR Whole Grains is the next book on my list.

  17. Looks great! I love the round loaf. Looking forward to Artos!

  18. The Artos is going to be another great challenge. I was going to put mine together today, but unexpected company arrived. PR tells us that the barm will be good for up to three days…I’m pushing the envelope tomorrow. ;)
    Thanks so much for visiting my blog. Happpy baking!

Leave a Reply

 
