‘On a wing and a prayer’

P1110138PeaceTalk

Come heck or high water, I’m back in my nest in the morning.  I’ve got to get back to the fold, the bread baking fold of, The Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge* presented by Nicole (www.pinchmysalt.com).  They are two, three, or is it four loaves ahead of me?  Or should I say, rather, that I am that far behind them?  Yes.  That’s more accurate.

I’ve been guilty of procrastination.  I think it’s actually more acute these days, brought forth by the lack of sugar and flour in my food pyramid.  It’s not healthy for me to operate under the influence of withdrawl.  As of matter-of-fact, it can get downright ugly. 

When I stepped from the car and into the cubicle of my hairdresser’s abode this afternoon he screamed from the mere sight of me.  I quickly set about explaining  (probably more like….mumbling) something to the effect that my busy schedule had kept me from maintaining myself properly.  Speechless, he backed away, grabbed a Home Depot-style color thing (only this had fake hair, grown nuclear), and began his assault.  Two hours, fifteen minutes later, several dollars vacant, and I can call myself a new woman.   Well, almost,  you see I’m  missing a few very important components.  Namely:  

flour and sugar…..

After all, I ain’t no fool.  I can drink diet shakes till those cows come home, put miles upon miles on my tennies, but if those diet gods have it out for me, there ain’t nothing I can do about it!  Well, let me amend that.  Although I’m not a revenge-seeking sort of person, I do get a bit of satisfaction once I get brave enough to accept resignation.  It takes only one thing, and I made danged sure I had it loaded in my cart as I flew through Wally’s World this afternoon:

Butter.

If I’m going down, I plan on sliding.  ;)

*based on the book, The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, written by Peter Reinhart (www.peterreinhart.typepad.com)

~ by coffeegrounded on August 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
