Thursday Morning Smack-Down

 Sour Cream Pineapple Muffin-Cakes

 

   with  Coconut, Pecans, and Passionfruit Jelly

                  

 

“Mom, you were wrong!  It is OKAY to play with my food.”   ;)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

8 ounces crushed pineapple .. DO NOT Drain

2 eggs (room-temp)

8 oz. container of sour cream (room-temp)

1/2 cup unsalted butter (room-temp)

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1/3 cup passionfruit jelly (room-temp)

1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

3/4 cup chopped pecans

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut

…..

Sift:  flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder.  Set aside.

Cream butter and brown sugar for five minutes on medium speed in mixer.  Add jelly and continue beating for one additional minute.  Next, add eggs, one at a time, mixing well until fully combined.  Pour in vanilla and blend well. 

Add sifted dry ingredients, into creamed mixture, mixing only until fully combined.  DO NOT OVERBEAT

Fold in pecans and coconut.

Fill muffin cups 2/3 full and bake for 12-15 minutes, or until tops are lightly browned and centers are set.  (Test with toothpick or cake tester).  Remove from oven and allow to cool thoroughly before glazing.

This recipe yielded 12 large muffin-tops and three singular mini-cakes:

Glaze

1 – 2 cups confectioners sugar, sifted

juice from two tangerines (oranges will work too!)

…..

~ by coffeegrounded on March 4, 2010.

9 Responses to “Thursday Morning Smack-Down”

  1. You had me at sour cream and pineapple… but coconut, pecans, and passion fruit? I am slain.

  2. Oh my freaking gosh. Look how delicious these look! It’s the dripping icing that’s totally doing me in.

    By the way, thanks for your comment on my blog. What a sweet person you are and I found myself uplifted by your words. Thanks a bunch for being such a great blogging friend. I mean that.

  3. I was got at sour cream and pineapple as well…and then added passion fruit jelly? And pecans…and that icing…Beautiful.

  4. Susan, Oh girl, UB2funny! ;) Thanks for visiting me…you are my hero and I am indebted for all that you have taught me via your lovely blog. :)

    Mags, girlfriend, what a lovely surprise to read your note! You just know that I am on your side, no matter what, no matter when. Oh, and I’m polishing these steel-toes for a hind-kickin…you just give me the time and the location! ;) We get you back in the saddle cuz we got busy-ness to handle…ALL THINGS, BAKED. ;)

    Hilary, you sweet soul! Thanks for dropping in, and thank you for bragging on my icing. I LOVE to play with my food; I’ll bet you do too. ;)

  5. This pineapple muffin is so tempting….. I just failed in baking a pineapple loaf last month, I think I should pick up myself and try baking this wonderful muffins. Thanks for sharing!!

    Sawadee from bangkok,
    Kris

    • Hi Kris! So happy to see your visit. What a beautiful, Monday morning, surprise!

      I can’t believe you failed at any baked good, but if you tell me you did, okay…I guess I have to believe you. ;)

      I was playing in the kitchen that morning, and simply kept adding ingredients. I was very surprised at the end result. :)

      Take good care, my friend, and again, thanks for visiting across the miles. :)

  6. This is phenomenal. What a great combination.

  7. how nice it is!! you have a fantastic picture very nice

Leave a Reply

 
