Chocolate Heaven…in a bread

aka…..

Chocolate Nutella Bread

…..

Heaven help me.  Twice in one week I have found myself reading the newspaper and both times I’ve been arrested by the news of some sort of recipe exchange.  I’m not worth two cents these days.  My mind is on sugar plums, the kind one dreams of when the havoc of mayhem streams most active. I’m like the rest of you, too tired to budge and too busy to know better.  Wrapping paper and ribbons wrestle my existence. Christmas is hurling toward me and I’m not sure which direction I should run.  If I don’t make haste, I’m in due trouble, but in the meantime let’s just pretend everything is on track. Besides, at this point, does anyone know differently?  If you’re reading this post you are either putting off what should have been done, or you have simply taken refuge in knowing that there is no possible way you can save yourself.

I’m right along with you.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Chocolate Nutella Bread

Search the pantry and larder for these items:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter  (room temp)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs (room temp)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 cup (8 ounces) sour cream (original recipe calls for this or crème fraîche)
  • 1/2 cup Nutella
  • 1/3 cup miniature chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup toasted hazelnuts (if you so desire…these were missing in action in my pantry)

I opted to bake a small loaf pan and six large nut-cup sized mini cakes (breads) from this recipe, but the original tells us that we can bake one 9 inch by 5 inch loaf.

…..

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating only until blended. Add vanilla.  Mix.

…..

In a separate bowl, sift together:  flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt.

…..

Yet in another bowl, smaller, blend together sour cream and Nutella, fully.

…..

Get yet another bowl (the more dishes the merrier, cuz we don’t have anything else to do, but the danged dishes!) stir together those toasted nuts and chocolate chips.  Set aside

…..

FINALLY, Add flour mixture to butter and sugar mixture, alternating with the sour cream and Nutella mixture, but go gently into the night on this item, don’t beat the Dickens out of it! Now, fill each container one-third of the way full, top with a layer of nuts and chocolate chips and then add an additional one-third bit of dough to each loaf, nut cup, muffin cup.  Tap items on counter, once filled, to release trapped air bubbles.

Bake muffin or nut cups for 18 to 20 minutes each, and smaller loaf pan(s) for 40 to 42 minutes.  If baking one large loaf, bake for approximately one hour.

Disclaimer:

Original recipe comes from The Fort Worth Star Telegram. (http://www.star-telegram.com/).  When I went to research for the original recipe in archives I was unable to locate it, but since this is the local paper I read on December 15th, 2010, I want to give credit, where credit is due.  (I’m guilty of scribbling my ‘must-saves’ onto 4 X 6 recipe cards, and compiling them when I have that thing called, spare-time…but who am I kidding?  I was just taking a break from mayhem when I baked this lil-bit-o-HEAVEN!).

~ by coffeegrounded on December 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
