Signed, sealed & delivered

…..

I had aspirations of making a Valentine.  You know the sort.  Smudged with the tell-tale signs of a white glue frenzy, brought forth by an afternoon spent cutting and pasting construction paper hearts, red and pink, across the lid and sides of a shoebox.  But I wondered, did I have construction paper?  Glue?  A shoebox?

Mentally, I scavenged the corners of my cave.  I had everything I needed, except for the paper and the box.

Yes.  I could decoupage my life, but I wouldn’t be able to dazzle its frame in color, nor contain it in a rectangle.  I had to find myself a Plan B.

…..

A sugar craving led me to a frenetic search for the alternate expression.   Sugar was my answer. Yet, I knew better.  Sugar always leads me down the path of least resistance. Nothing I said to myself could sway me from my next course of action.   I found myself at Sam’s, staring at a 5 lb. bag of confectioner’s sugar and contemplating the plot dialog.

Do I need this?  Sure looks cheaper than going the one-pound route via the local grocer’s. How much action was I planning?  Was there really a game plan?  Or, was I teetering on the abyss of yet another, OCD exchange?

I found myself at checkout with what I came for:  laundry soap and a bag of tissue.  It wasn’t until I arrived home that I discovered I’d accidentally transported that item in question.

I guess I’d best find a Plan C.  After all, I don’t think it’s healthy for a kitten to chew into the proceeds of a five-pound bag of dust particles and right now he seems to be quite excited about my questionable purchase.

…..

I had a justifiable reason for this foray.  These weren’t just Valentine’s, these were, Home is where the heart is, cookies.  A sweet little girl moved to a sweet new home.  I wrapped my heart around the thought of letting her know how much she means to me.  I rarely see her, and almost never talk to her, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t think of her.  :)

Pretty in pink

There was now a fine dust settling over everything in my kitchen.  Some of it flour, but a lot of it, sugar.  I had butter, everywhere.  And then there were the cookie cutters, strung about as if they were begging to be hung upon a pine tree.

I was beginning to wonder about my kitchen addiction when it dawned on me that everything that was, out, needed to be put back, up!  The thought crossed my mind, for a half of second, What if I just continue, and in the end I’ll have less excess?

On the threshold of mania, I reminded myself of a few other commitments that lurked in the recesses of my mind.  It was now time for me to conjure a plan to end all other plans:  Plan D.

…..

Cookies had taken over my whole existence.  I found them everywhere.  I stuffed them into boxes provided by my local post office.  I ran through rolls of strapping tape, came up short on a few ink pens.  I put mileage on myself and my vehicle as we plotted the best plan of escape:  DEADLINE

And in the end.  I found solace with sugar and flour over cardboard and construction paper cut-outs.  It remains to be seen if I can control myself in the future.  I love sugar, just as much as I love, Valentine’s Day!

Here, have a cookie…..

~ by coffeegrounded on February 14, 2011.

One Response to “Signed, sealed & delivered”

  1. Those are so pretty! You are talented.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

Leave a Reply

 
