What is it?

That has this beautiful girl so intrigued?

Rain!

It was the last week of May that we received a significant rain event.  Today we have rain!

I began the month wondering how much longer it would be before the DFW area had measurable rainfall.  I was so desperate to see liquid gold that I set about to offer up a contest, of sorts, to my family:  Name the date, and the hour that an inch of rain would begin to fall upon this particular address.   I’d bake a batch of cookies for the winner. Dates came, and went.  The airport received a bit of rain, a trace amount yesterday (or was it the day before?), but still, nil at this home front.  I got to the point that I began to alter the contest rules.  That inch of rain needn’t fall fully upon any particular day, I’d offer up multiple winners if their day(s) marked some sort of marker to the beginning or ending of the rain event.  Here were the predictions:

Josie, 09/16/2011 @ 8:15 AM (0815)

Charlie, 09/02/2011 @ 2:22 PM (1422)
Megan, 09/03/2011 @ 11:15 AM (1115)
Bernie, 09/04/2011 @ 5:30 AM (0530)
Charlene, 09/04/2011 @ 3:34 PM (1534)
Sunny, 09/06/2011 @ 2:00 AM (0200)
Kathy, 09/08/2011 @ 4:00 PM (1600)
Jacob, 09/11/2011 @ 8:00 AM (0800)
Beverly, 09/14/2011 @ 4:45 PM (1645)

I waited.  I’d like to say that I was patient, but truth is, I was a bit frayed about the edges from mounting concerns.  A forest fire near my sister’s place of employment, friends who had friends that had lost their homes at Lake Travis, and livestock trapped and unable to defend themselves against the approaches of fire.  I began to feel foolish for making a contest out of a waiting game that had so tragically affected thousands.

Today, I simply want to give thanks.  The sound of rainfall is precious to those in the midst of a drought, to those in the northeast, it is heartbreaking. My hope is that we all get what we need.  It may not arrive when we had hoped or planned, but to everything there is a season.  Never lose hope.   Without it we have nothing.

Today I feel most blest.

This young lady brings me hope on a daily basis

~ by coffeegrounded on September 16, 2011.

One Response to “What is it?”

  1. I over heard some kids talking at school as we waited to see if the clouds would bring rain our way. “Maybe we can walk in rain!’ Didn’t come my way yet but Scout is looking at the window at the lightening.

Leave a Reply

 
