‘Quote’ me…

P1150924

It’s Saturday, Day #4 of Jenni’s, May challenge, www.StoryofMyLifetheBlog.blogspot.com and she encourages us to share a favorite quote.  This request had me wrestling through several, and in the end, seeking a new one.  It fell right into my lap, describing perfectly, how I feel, day-in, day-out.

Attributed to the late comedian, Phyllis Diller.  Here we go:

Housework can’t kill you, but why take a chance?

It spoke volumes and  echoed back and forth through the brain cells of this old woman. I know of nothing more tedious, time-consuming and brain numbing in all this world! Once completed (if ever), it’s time to start again.  There is no break.  It’s 24-7, and the only escape is with the journey to the grocery store, cleaners, pharmacy, or other errand, and even then, once back home there’s more work:

The unload, unwrap, organize, the shift-dance in the fridge.  The drone of boredom. The nagging echo, “Clock’s running, better get started.  Better get ‘er dun.”

It’s a thank-less job.  No Kudos, slaps-on-the-back, or acknowledgement for a job well done.  (Okay, I am a bit dramatic, and I am dreaming, a bit.  After all, who cares?  Right? … Yeah, I thought so.  It really is mundane along with mind-numbing.)

Thank God for nature.  I step out side and let the sunshine rain therapeutic about my soul.

By picking up a hoe, shovel, hose, or other garden tool, I escape.  Mayhem cannot journey where butterflies flit.

I can play in my garden from sun-up to sunset, never wanting to run away from any of its chores, but the ones inside this house?  They’re killing me!

Phyllis is right,

“Why chance it?”

BlogEverday

 

~ by coffeegrounded on May 4, 2013.

4 Responses to “‘Quote’ me…”

  1. Now that is one I have NOT heard…and I love it! And I love all that you had to say about housework.

    Paula’s Place

    • That chick rates right up there with Erma Bombeck, for me. ;)

      Thank you for your visit, Paula. Enjoy a wonderful, Sunday.

  2. ha! I had never heard this quote, but it is pretty much the unspoken rule by which I live! :)
    Thank you for your comment on my blog (on “suicide”). I appreciated it, and it was indeed great motivation.

    • Melody, your writing is beautiful; I can only imagine what your papers reveal. Don’t give you on your dream. Make it a reality, please…I beg you! You have much to offer.

Leave a Reply

 
