“You’re boring”

P1160210

Ring my chimes!  It’s Saturday, May 25th.  Only seven more days before I complete Jenni’s (StoryofMyLifetheBlog.blogspot.com), challenge for blogging our way through the month of May.  I have to admit that this has been more gut-wrenching than I thought it would be.  I’m not a Facebook person, I have a Twitter account, yet to use, because I have nothing to say that I can condense into 140 characters (did I remember that fact right).  Therefore, I don’t, Tweet.  I did join Instagram.  I wanted to follow my daughter’s photo essay’s, but I believe I’ve posted all of one photo offering for them. But back to that thing about finding this difficult.  The writing not so much, but the putting of myself ‘out there’ for all the world to see.  Now that’s the part that has been my challenge. Yes, I understand I had options, I could have written about other things within the confines of this space I call, life.  But I finally had summoned the courage (aided by the forum) allowing myself to move forward, as suggested by two folks that know something about this stuff.  I simply didn’t know how, or where to begin it.  So, here it is, and there it was, and now let’s get down to the nitty-gritty of today’s assignment:

BlogEverday

“Something someone told you about yourself

that you’ll never forget (good or bad).”

For Bonnie, wherever you are; “Thank-you!” your observation, astute and correct, delivered as only a best friend can.  I owe it all to you.  To the rest of you, here is her advice:

P1160213

“You are so boring!  Read a book every once in a while, and while you’re at it, be sure it’s a classic.  Stop wasting your time on that crap at the grocery store check-out line.” …. (as close as I can recall, these were the words).

Well, I had to respect Bonnie, after all, she was my best friend when I was 21; three years older than me.  I was a telephone operator, and she was finishing up her Master’s work at the University of North Texas.  Her major(s):  English & French.  She could read and write them both.  She always had her head in a book, a tome, she read several at once.  Well, not all at once, separately, but daily.  That always amazed me.  How on earth could she keep the dialogs separated, follow the story lines, engage in the theories?

…..

A few days pass before I can face her for shaming me and calling me out on my obvious stupidity.  It wasn’t until then that she had a real heart-to-heart with me.

She defined stupidity and then ignorance.  Gave examples, even used me as one of them.

I learned a great deal from, Bonnie.  I swallowed my pride and asked her if she could list a few books that might help me muddle my way through my ignorance, toward becoming an equal in our circle of chums.

She did one better than that.  She didn’t write a few titles and authors names out for me, she brought me an actual list of required reading that she had been assigned. Pages, and pages, and pages in length. Classics. Behemoths. Tomes.

I think this is when I first developed the problem I have with these crossed-eyes.

…..

I felt small, especially after reading my first of many assignments.  I had a growth spurt somewhere between the next five reads.  And then I stopped for a bit, until I could get Bonnie alone to ask her another bit of advice.  I wanted to know if I had to read these books in order, or would it be okay if I jumped around this list?  She assured me that I could do as I wished, and even encouraged me.  I think it was also at this juncture where she asked me, “What do you do when you come across a word you don’t understand?”

“I ignore it.”

“Don’t ignore too many of them, they are building your vocabulary.”

Now I realized how really boring I must have been.  Grocery-store thrillers, and a limited vocabulary.  Jeez, how did she put up with this ignorance, and why had she for three years?

It became habitual.  The dictionary searches, the scrapes of paper to scribble words for definitions of.  I admitted to myself that I could not read as Bonnie did.  I could not devote myself to the juggling of many at once.  One day was dictionary day.  One day for reading and writing.

…..

Somewhere around this house I still have that list.  And even though Bonnie and I have lost track of one another over the multitude of years that have since passed, I will always remember her advice as the best that I have ever received from anyone.

Books open our lives to worlds beyond our wildest dreams.  They prove that we are not stupid, we are ignorant, and that ignorance is bliss.  The more that I learn, the less it is that I know, but today, I know so much more and I owe it to you, Bonnie.

Thank you.

P1160216

God help me if she stumbles across this.  Maybe I should just go and sharpen that red pencil now.  Oh, wait, she probably carries one with her.  I’m sure she edits better than this iMac, anyway.

;)

~ by coffeegrounded on May 25, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
