Cupid’s Arrow

image

Hannah

 

Thrust itself into the center of my universe.  It came barreling toward me at the mightiest of speeds, captured a dream and materialized it.

Somewhere in Oklahoma a little pup was born nine years ago.  And because none of us truly knows her birthdate, we estimated her age, at rescue, to be somewhere around  three months of age.  It was decided we would choose Valentines Day as her ‘given’ birthdate, knowing that we would always want to celebrate her birthday day, and we would need a date to mark her years for health and medical concerns.

Princess Hannah, full of Grace, Hoberg, was initially rescued by her folks.  They resided in a house right off campus (Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK), a few houses away from her owner.  Somehow they were uneasy about her living situation, and fearing that she was not in the best of hands, they took it upon themselves to ‘politely’ introduce themselves one day to the man who was her owner.  Evidently the guy offered them a visit into the home so they could pet the pup.  Amongst an array of filth and empty beer cans they inquired about how he had obtained her.  If my memory serves me correctly, it was from a box of puppies being given away up in the Wal-Mart parking lot. As the kids visited, the beer meister asked if they’d like to take the dog off his hands, evidently he labored and wasn’t around much to care for the little thing.  Bingo!  Mission accomplished.  He sent them on their way with a bag of Wal-Mart’s less-than-finest chow and the little pup.

Spring Break brought those two kiddos to the house, and with them came their gregarious, rambunctious little girl.  Somehow those two college kids failed to see the warning signs written all over me.  Let’s just blame it on the fact that they weren’t aware of MY history. I’d grown up in a home where many puppies came and went, all of them beautiful, all of them so ready to be loved by the greedy hands and hearts of the six children that resided with them.  There was just one problem.  Our father was a professional dog breeder and trainer in his spare time, every evening after work and mornings before going off to his job, he trained them, ran them and fed them.  His idea of our playtime with them existed as this:  cleaning their pens and being sure they had clean water.  We were not allowed to pet or play with them and we were taught to never make direct eye contact with them.  My father had a mission.

Living with AKC puppies for us kids was a somber chore.  Can you imagine German Shorthairs, Black Labradors and Weimaraner dogs of outstanding breedership being off-limits to the loving hearts and minds of those who lived among them?  No, probably not. So imagine two college kids arriving at my doorstep with a little yellow Lab.  Think of the sheer delight of seeing her romp thru a house, fancy-prancing her way right into my heart as two ignorant school kids are showing off their prize, their joy and telling the story of her rescue.  Was I slobbering, could they read the greed within my eyes?

Okay, I exaggerate, I’m sure.  Surely I did, I mean, after all the youngsters were dear to me.  One a daughter, the other would one day become my son (in-law).  I’m sure I behaved.

Spring turned to summer, and one thing led to another.  My daughter left for an internship in California, and her boyfriend headed to Egypt for three weeks.  They needed a pet sitter.  I don’t even think I raised my hand for duty.  The inflection in my voice surely cured any anxiety they had about leaving their sweet pup with me.

Time passes, boyfriend arrives back to the States and daughter is two thousand+miles away in California.  I have a little ‘sit-down’ with dad of puppy.  I conger up all sorts of excuses as to why I might keep the dog a bit longer, especially since he’ll only be returning to Oklahoma to finish up a six-week course before heading out to California to visit his family and my daughter.  My skills at motherhood WERE in excellent shape that particular day. Stellar, in fact!  That boy got in his truck and drove away believing things were all lined up to be ‘fine.’  And truly, they were.  I set my sights on exploration.  Hannah and I drove if we couldn’t walk.  We bought a boatload of toys, dog shampoo, a kiddy pool.  The two of us were in cahoots and no one was on to us.  Yet.

Dang!  Six weeks traveled faster than an Oklahoma twister.  Dad came back and had a plan for him and Hannah to journey off to California and join up with the troops.  It was time to spill the beans.  I don’t even remember how Hannah and I had a talk with him.  Maybe we didn’t?  Maybe he just looked around the house and realized Hannah had purchased the real estate?   Perhaps he read between the lines as I told stories of our adventures.  Explained the trip to the vet for a health check, vaccinations and the fact I had her spayed?  (Don’t go all Zombie on me.  The discussion had arisen that they planned on doing that as soon as their budget allowed.)

It’s nine years later.  The kids are married and living in Northern California.  They have a Goldendoodle, named Zulu.  All three of them are living the good life, hiking the mountains and venturing out back and down the trail to the lake.  Hannah?  She’s a regular at the park.  Neighbors ask about her before they ask about anyone else living in the house. Starbucks recognizes her moms voice and hands over a PuppyWhip when tea and coffee purchases are made.  CVS Drug store pharmacy drive thru offers her a cookie at prescription pickup time.  Three-Dog Bakery greets her with treats out of the pastry case. Everyone in there knows her by name, and heaven forbid if her owner arrives without her in tow.  You’d think a crime had been committed!  So where do I go from here?  How can I convey what the past nine years have meant to Hannah, to me, to all of our family?  What could I do to express the magnitude of joy she has brought, the love we have shared? Which part of the rescue belongs to whom?  I believe that Hannah is a gift beyond measure, priceless and precious to more than simply me.  She has touched lives and broadened horizons.  And, it began all by the grace of God with intuition by two who felt a life needed help.

Happy Birthday, Hannah!  You cannot measure our love and we cannot measure yours, but we know one thing:  you have gifted all of us.  We are blessed beyond measure.

 

image

 Miss Zulu

~ by coffeegrounded on February 14, 2015.

32 Responses to “Cupid’s Arrow”

  1. Oh my god, want to hug.

  2. Wonderful story and what a beautiful dog. Tell me is a goldendoodle the name for a cross between a golden retriever and poodle. Here that is called a groodle!

  3. Love this story about the true bonds of love. May you celebrate many more Valentine birthdays with Hannah! And may every dog (and cat) be so heartfully rescued.

    • Thank you, Sharon.

      I have a dear friend who trains rescue dogs. I watch how diligently she trains them, cares for them and I always say to her, “Debbie, I am so thankful for what you do.” She selflessly gives her time, patience and love knowing there is someone who will be given a new life because of her dedication. I wish I had her gift, but I could never let go of one. Well, perhaps. I don’t really know, but I am so thankful there are people that can.

  4. This is so sweet! It sounds like Hannah definitely found er Person the day she found you.

  5. Oh that sweet baby girl. I can’t believe that little angel is 9 years old. What an amazing 9 years she’s had. She’s the luckiest girl in the world and we are the luckiest folks to have her in our lives. Zubie is sending her b-day love all the way from California. We will call her later to hear all about her fun day!

    • Thank you one million times forty seven trillion for allowing me the honor of your’s and Jacob’s trust. She has made me a better human being. I love that you two honored me. ❤️

  6. Happy birthday, Hannah!
    My parents got a feisty cockapoo named Ambrose in much the same way.
    I never had a dog growing up. We tried several and they just didn’t work out. We were cat people. Years passed and I grew up, got a job and moved out and went to the animal shelter and adopted this cute little white, fluffy dog. We had a great time but I hit some financial troubles and the three of us (me, Ambrose and our cat companion Zeke) moved back in with my parents. We were a happy bunch. About a year later when I was ready to get back out on my own I was told in no uncertain terms that although they couldn’t stop me from leaving I was not taking Ambrose.

    Thanks for giving Hannah the kind of home Ambrose had.
    I wish you both many years of adventures to come.

    • What a special story. I’m so thankful you and Ambrose found one another…or better yet, how all was meant to happen; gifted to one another.
      There is nothing more wonderful than the unconditional love of an animal. They forgive us in spite of ourselves, never point out our faults and never keep a scorecard. We are loved simply by the mutual respect we offer each other. They don’t look at the color of our skin, test us for our abilities or lack there of, could care less if we are beauty queens or kings, nor does it matter if we live in a mansion or a shack. We are loved for who we are and they trust us because we trust them. Pure. Simple. Compassionate. We are expected to be ourselves, no veneers or false pretenses, just offer mutual love and respect. And that is such an easy task, for whom among us is not better because we are appreciated for our simple and pure hearts? Animals definitely bring out the best in us.
      Thank you for Hannah’s birthday wish! ❤️

  7. Ambrose really bonded with my dad and when they gave the ultimatum that he was staying with them that was okay with me. I wasn’t going far and could still visit him as often as I wanted. He would have been too much for my one room apartment. He lived a long and happy life with my parents who doted on him. He even ate off my father’s plate at the dinner table!

  8. What a wonderful Valentines Day story! Love it! :-)

  9. This is a truly sweet story. Hannah is a beautiful gal and you are blessed to have one another!

  10. Good story! Such a treat for you to rasie Hannah–and for her, as well, I am sure!

  11. I’m loving your dog <3
    I love dogs a lot!! especially huskies!!
    Take care of it !! nice blog between you got my official follow :)
    Have a great day
    Greetings from Algeria !

    • Welcome, and thank you for your visit, Rika.

      Huskies are beautiful dogs. Hopefully I’ll find a photo or two of your sweet dog when I visit your blog.

      I look forward to your visits. ☕️

    • Anytime!! my pleasure!!
      Oh actually I don’t have a husky they can’t live in Algeria because of the weather!
      I’d be very pleased if you checked up my blog, and I hope you will do!!
      Keep in touch
      Much love!

    • Sweet blog! I appreciate your positive attitude. Your photography is impressive; quite the talent you have with your camera.

      Forgive my confusion, believing you were a husky owner. I misread your initial post.

      Where are you located in Algeria? We live in the northern part of Texas, a southern state in the United States.

    • Thank you so much for all those kind words … I am very pleased to know that you liked my blog :) !!!
      I would really love to have a husky but as i told u the weather is not good for them here and they are so expensive!!!
      I know where texas is actually i have a brother living there
      I live in the west of Algeria some state called Oran !

  12. What a wonderful story! Happy Belated to Hannah give her pets from me :)

  13. Third time reading this story and it’s just as good – and I really needed to read something uplifting and loving. Thanks for this wonderful story which would not have happened without all the wonderful people who were involved – even the beer guy who took a lonely puppy from a parking lot and eventually made sure she had great companions.

    • It’s always so great to hear from you! It means so much that you find this post
      uplifting. I feel uplifted whenever I see you in a reply😍. Please feel more than welcome to drop me a line via my email.

      God works in the most wondrous and mysterious ways. He put it all together…every little bit, from her birth to her arrival. I am blessed beyond measure.

      Hugs to you, sweet friend.❤️

Leave a Reply

 
