September is Suicide Prevention/Awareness Month

Dedicated to Prescilla

If you’re a regular reader of my blog you have most likely heard me refer to depression from time to time, namely, my personal journey with this heinous and insidious monster.

Many people find it taboo to discuss it openly, especially if it hits a bit too close to home. Shame and stigma are the calling cards of Mental Illness

(“Oh my God, what happens if someone I know reads my wife’s blog?”)

(“Why on earth would my daughter-in-law publicly embarrass me like this, OMG!”)

(“How can I distance myself, scrub this embarrassment from my social world?”)

Well, maybe they really pay me no mind and all of this is just a figment of my imagination, or maybe I’m cautiously reminded of words that bounced about the room, a finger pressed into my chest as I was taunted over how ridiculously embarrassing and cruel I was to put my family through so much shame…

Perhaps?  Maybe?

Okay.  All of that is forgiven.  Truly it is.   But I’m humanly flawed and will never forget the biting sting of those words.  However, I do want to thank you for toughening up my edges!  I learned I could unintentionally embarrass you without embarrassing myself.  I could learn to love being a failure because it taught me something greater.  It taught me about true success, the kind that no one can rob from me or take credit for.  You showed me that conditional love is not love, and how it varies so greatly from true love.  I learned that the unconditional item respects both parties, and garners hope and courage for the long haul. I would learn where it exists, understand that it never comes under question or doubt and that it builds unbreakable bonds that will stand the test of time.

Yes, I wish I could twinkle fairy dust and wave a magical wand, but I am powerless to do so. Just as powerless as I was to succumb to this aberrant behavior, disease, condition, genetic coding, or whatever the hell it is, or why it is.  I’d love to simply do a Donald Trump comb-over and hide the whole damn mess for any and all of us.  It is simply a reality that exists, and sadly it hits home for more people than some of us realize.

It isn’t pretty.  It’s certainly not something anyone would wish upon even their worst enemy.  It’s heartbreaking, life-taking to some, and a very real day-to-day struggle for all that are affected.

September is Suicide Prevention/Awareness Month.  Will you consider that someone you know is hiking a treacherous trail and you may be their one and only lifeline?

You are more important than you realize.  Don’t discount your importance even if you find mental illness difficult to understand.  You very well could be the difference between hope and hopelessness.  Do you understand your potential, the power you hold by learning to overcome shame and stigma?

A survivor does.  We know how education opens the world to understanding the complexities of the human condition.  Your eyes are upon us, our hope is that you will help us break the cycle of stigma and shame.

☕️❤️

 

 

~ by coffeegrounded on September 17, 2015.

32 Responses to “September is Suicide Prevention/Awareness Month”

  1. My heart goes out to you as you struggle with this terrible condition. I’ve read that those who fail but use the failure as an opportunity for self examination and to improve skills, do much better than those who fail but castigate themselves for that single incident.
    Margie, I care about you deeply and consider you a wonderful friend whose outlook makes a positive impression on me, Thank you for pointing out the need to address suicide as an illness and not a bad habit.

    • Thank you Sharon, your words are an inspiration. If we can overcome our fears about openly discussing suicide, we might come to understand dynamics that can help us close the numbers…

      One example:

      Our veterans are returning from wars they were mentally trained to fight, sent back into mainstream America without any desensitizing of the brutality tactics needed for combat in deployment. They are ill equipped to handle, or navigate today’s financial environment and changing workforce.
      How do they manage a mortgage, put food on the table and offer their families a better future when they are fighting their own internal war? The number of Veteran’s taking their lives is staggering. We need to rethink how we mainstream our solders back into civilian life.

  2. Thank you fur boldly speaking out! Shame has never helped anyone – and maybe YOUR WORDS help someone else feel a little less alone!😺 🌹

  3. Reblogged this on Art by Rob Goldstein.

  4. Loved this post! So filled with honesty! I don’t know why people feel you should be ashamed of your personal journey. The struggle and fight you went through makes you that much more of a strong and incredible being. They should be proud of your fight to overcome! Kudos to you! Great lost!

  5. Reblogged this on abbiegrrl's recovery blog and commented:
    Think about it. Self-harm (“cutting”, for example) can turn into suicide in a split second. Please pay kind attention.

    • Thank you for reblogging. My hope is that each and everyone of us can find a way to communicate our pain and suffering, verbally, and ask that others consider the power of their words and actions too. Together, we can, and we will forge a greater understanding of our world. Through tolerance, patience and hope we can break down barriers and open our minds to new possibilities.

  6. As a fellow sufferer, I understand your struggle and how much more difficult it is to handle while carrying a burden of misunderstanding rather than being supported with a hug and a smile.

    Depression is increasing in the US at an alarming rate and I think we all suffer from it to one extent or another, from an occasional unfounded sadness to day after day, trapped under the water hopelessness.

    None of us WANT to feel this way. It isn’t a choice we make.

    Thank you, for bringing this to the attention of your readers from one who has been there and still visits on occasion.

    • Thanks for your thoughtful words. I hope the day arrives when this heinous monster can be eradicated.

      My first episode came upon me after the birth of my first child. Postpartum Depression cycled into Postpartum Psychosis. I spent three months in a locked psych unit. That occurred at age 32, but looking back, the true onset came at age 27.

      I went on to have a very successful career in business and computers. I want others to know they are not alone and that there are some remarkable resources readily available. Sometimes finding them can be challenging, but don’t give up hope.

      Yes, it would have made the sailing easier with love and support, but I understand ignorance rushes in when knowledge is limited. In the end, I believe I grew to appreciate the nuances, the depth and the clarity of being lost and vacant. The empty void prepared me to accept failure, not as misfortune, but as a stepping stone. I cannot tell you how grateful I am for my friend Prescilla and the fact she not only saved my life, but my beautiful daughters.
      Angels walk amongst us.
      ❤️

  7. Reblogged this on Where Do I Go From Here? and commented:
    Depression is increasing in the US at an alarming rate and I think we all suffer from it to one extent or another, from an occasional unfounded sadness to day after day, trapped under the water hopelessness.
    None of us WANT to feel this way. It isn’t a choice we make.
    Thank you, for bringing this to the attention of your readers from one who has been there and still visits on occasion.

  8. I have no words for this post but, anger……

  9. Telling the truth isn’t usually very pretty and requires courage. I think it’s human nature to fear what we don’t understand. It is also in our own best interest to “appeal to our better angels” rather than give into fear, anger and anxiety. It is your right to stand on the truth and demand that others be a help and not a hindrance. It is also your right to accept and expect nothing less than human decency from those around you., anything less is abuse.
    Hang in there! I hope this has been helpful.

    • Your words are thoughtful and beautifully articulated, Tom.
      This was a difficult post to write, but personal histories generally are.

      Thank you for commenting .
      ☕️❤️

  10. Hide behind whatever you need to, Margie…

    • Bev, I like to respond to everyone who comments on my blog posts. Unfortunately, I’m not sure how to do so in regards to your comment(s).

      If you feel threatened by any comment, or post written by me, please be more specific so that I can address it openly and honestly.

      September is National Suicide Prevention and Awareness month. if you click the link within my blog post it will take you directly to the NAMI website.

      I write under several different blog categories here on WordPress. One such group that I am affiliated with is a Survivors group. If you peruse the WordPress Freshly Pressed search engine you will find countless blogs referring to September as the National month for the Prevention and Awareness of Suicide.

      If for any reason you feel I have singled you out in any manner, please direct me to my specific statements.

      Many of my fellow blogger friends know me as CoffeeGrounded, few know me by my name, Margie.

      I do hope you will allow me to answer any concerns you may have about this post. I can assure you that it was written specifically as an autobiographic account of my personal experience.

      My greatest hope is to unite with others whose wish it is to see the stigma and shame surrounding suicide diminished and one day abolished.

      Admitting to a mental illness is allowing me to accept my responsibility of accepting it and learning ways of communicating when I am in need of help, and taking action to get the help I need.

      I am regretfully sorry if my post caused you concern and distress. These words were not written to inflict or incite pain. My sincerest apologies if you felt otherwise.

  11. Reblogged this on wwwpalfitness and commented:
    You help who you can, even if you are depressed, you have worth, you mean something to everyone.

  12. I have had more than my own share of my own demons, that of family, I have lost friends when I was away. I know too well all that is meant to be a part of someone and to touch them at the right time and I have friends, kids I coached and friends who became more just because someone heard them. Be a part.

    • Such truth and wisdom. It is by giving of ourselves that we receive the joyful impact our effort has upon the world around us. Some days we find ourselves so harried upon the path of life, feeling overwhelmed and consumed by duties. Bless those you pass with a genuine, “Hello,” a smile from your heart, or the handshake that say’s, “I’m glad we met!”

      Taking time for others does not subtract from time for ourselves. What we give is multiplied several times over when we offer it with no expectations attached.

      Thank you again for reblogging this and for sharing your inspiration.

    • You are quite welcome and I thank you for both your kind words and following me. My hope is to inspire and help others get their words across to newer viewers that I have and benefit as many people as i can and enjoy what others write.

    • Two peas in a pod. :)

      I want to offer hope and inspire others to see and share their hope with this world, too.

    • It would seem we are. Just being on various sites I have no options to add special characters to comments. I add media to posts, urls in fr4ont and behind and do my own personal websit3 that has a link in my about. But this is different. I have old ones for now defunct sites and WP has all old forums. I am still learning or re learning I suppose. :)

    • About the time I learn one function a new version is released. I’ll spend time perusing your blog in the morning. It will be a brand new journey. That’s what I love so much about blogging. People introduce us into their worlds and we get a free ticket to enjoy their journeys. I don’t do Facebook, so I never know when someone is walking their dog, what they ate with that tuna fish sandwich at lunch and who is on a mission to rail on their neighbor over the barking dog at 3 am. ;)

      Enjoy a good evening.

    • I understand I share to FB and I hardly get a notice and the 200 a day posters I got rid of. An update 10 times in 15 minutes is crazy. I thank you that you will look through some of my craziness as you get the chance. We all have stories to tell and are sort of like an ununited flash mob of people with different skills and it is a great mix of words, sentiments and great photography

  13. […] Source: September is Suicide Prevention/Awareness Month […]

Leave a Reply

 
