Joy is a baker

and she knows her stuff.  Seriously.  I would know, I am now her new BFF.  She just doesn’t realize it yet.  You see, this girl invited me to enjoy breakfast, she even went so far as to include some instructions (yes, they were written as recipes, but then the invite was quite public).  Crazy?  Yeah, I know.  Dang, I’m glad she did it though, I am better because of it.

p1090705

I didn’t know what to expect.  I mean, I’ve gawked at the lovelies, but  never taken the dive, indulging in the revelry, until this morning.   But then it isn’t often that I’m invited to join hundreds of others in mass morning bake-ups and bake-offs. 

(I should do this more often, no telling how many new friends I could make.)

p1090691

 

p10906972

 

I swear, I wish I were better at this blog thing.  I’m afraid I’m going to smear icing all over my new friendship before I can even nurture it.  She’s just so danged cute!  Her photograph is proof one, but when she starts making magic in her kitchen, well, lets just say she has some serious stuff tied to those apron strings.  She is mighty AND talented and I want to sing her praises.  That’s what BFF’s do, isn’t it?  Oh, and before I go and really embarrass myself, I’ve got to confess, that ‘BFF’ thing, I swiped that from one of my daughters.  I’d heard her using that slang and wasn’t sure if I should smile, smirk, or take cover.  I got myself to the computer and dialed up my other BFF, Google.  He reassured me, as he often does, and I continued on in my life of graying hair and expand-o-matic spandex almost immediately.   

Okay, I’m winding this tale into something far from extraordinary so let me just get back to Joy THE baker (www.joythebaker.com), cuz she is.  And I am so glad I discovered her and I’m pleased as punch that we are now BFF’s.

:)

Just look at what she offered up as a reward if I showed up and took her up on her offer.

 

p1090710

 …..

Mocha Coffee Coffee Cake with Espresso Glaze

 (via Joy the Baker, adapted from The Gourmet Cookbook  and slightly adapted again by CoffeeGrounded*)

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt,  (I prefer Kosher)*

1 1/2 sticks (12 tablespoons) unsalted butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs, (room temp)*

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 cup sour cream

2 Tablespoons cocoa powder (+ 1 Tablespoon confectioners sugar)*, dissolved in 1 1/2 T. hot water (a smidgen more if needed)

2 Tablespoons instant espresso powder (+ 1 Tablespoon confectioners sugar)*, dissolved in 1 to 2 T. hot water

2 Tablespoons cacao nibs*

1/3 cup chopped walnuts

…..

Mocha-Cocoa Glaze*

1 1/2 teaspoons espresso powder (I think I used about 2 full tablespoons)*

3-5 Tablespoons strong brewed coffee (again, I adjusted to the consistency needed to drizzle)*

1 Tablespoon cocoa powder

1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar

…..

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and lightly flour your Bundt pan, 6 cup capacity.

Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl.

Beat butter in mixer for two full minutes at medium speed.  Gradually add sugar and continue beating for two additional minutes.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Now beat in the vanilla.  Add sifted flour ingredients with the sour cream, beginning and ending with the sifted flour until just incorporated.  Don’t over-beat this item….we want the tenderest of tender for our crumb.

Now, divide dough into thirds in three separate bowls.  Add espresso/confectioners mixture to one and blend fully, again, don’t beat it to death!  Next, add cocoa powdered sugar mixture and blend, not over-beating.  To the remaining third, add cacao nibs and walnuts (finely chopped).  Spoon all three batters into the Bundt pan, alternating with each flavor until evenly distributed throughout the pan. 

Bake cake until golden, or until a wooded toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  My bake time was approximately 50 minutes.  Joy’s recipes notes 55 to 60 minutes, but ALL ovens operate differently.  Cool cake for a few minutes before inverting it onto a cooling rack.  Allow it to cool for 30 minutes before adding drizzle.

…..

p1090713 

  No!  BFF, stop panicking, those are not bugs in that vanilla, I simply added us some cacao nibs and a few walnuts.    Here, have a smidgen.  Don’t eat it all, we have other new BFF’s;  share is the word!

 

p10907163

*Adapted by CoffeeGrounded.

~ by coffeegrounded on March 22, 2009.

3 Responses to “Joy is a baker”

  1. Mocha-Cocoa Glaze…. How divine……

    coffeegrounded…. just loved it….

    Came thru deeba’s blog….

    Check out Zebra Cake for the Rajpals
    Lunch at Deeba’s
    Cups of Magic ~ Vanilla Cupcakes @ Deeba’s

  2. This beautiful cake looks mighty delicious! A wonderful combination of flavors!

    Cheers,

    rosa

  3. Oh yay, can comment now. You are brilliant. thank you for fixing it! Joy is immensely talented & your cake looks GORGEOUS! Coffe is my BEST flavour & this bundt rocks!

Leave a Reply

 
