Stick a fork in me

I’m done!

The bounty of my drought stricken garden…

The apple of my eye…

Porky, da pig…

There was a recipe in here that was hankering to get out, and one that had taken me the better part of the day to compile.  I roasted, I chopped, chopped a bit more….oh, and I fried up that lovely apple-smoked bacon as buff for the whole enchilada mess.

It’s not like this thing should have failed.  It’s been a worthy go-to for fall and winter dinners for a couple of years now.  Something happened.  Perhaps I had a butternut squash that hadn’t rested its soul long enough, the Zesta apple that should have been a Granny Smith, fancy bacon, rather than the good old standby?

The heartbreak lies with the onions, though.  Those little sweets deserved so much more than what they got.   They fought a fierce battle to survive the lack of rainfall in this Texas garden.  At harvest, they lay braided against a forgotten corner of the screened porch.  I rescued them just this morning, knowing how perfect they were, or would be, for a lovely pot of soup.

Fear not.  I’ll return.  They’ll be another go-round, and hopefully it will be successful. In the meantime, have a sip of soupiness.  Pretend this is thick, creamy, succulent….cuz it should have been.  It is pretty to look at, though…

~ by coffeegrounded on October 27, 2011.

2 Responses to “Stick a fork in me”

  1. it does look very yummy!

    • This is one of my favorite soups, so I was a little bit perplexed when it went south on me. I think the moon was eclipsed, the cat burped or maybe the dog lost her favorite toy. Something was amiss. Surely it couldn’t have been the cook having some sort of brain fog, a senior moment, an ‘off’ sort of day. … ;)

Leave a Reply

 
